Brotherhood & Sisterhood Qur'an

Online Qur’an Recitation

Join the Islamic Center at NYU (@icnyu_official), Center DC (@centerdc), the Middle Ground Muslim Center (@mgmccali) and the Suhaib Webb Institute (@suhaib_webb_institute_) as we come together with folks from all over the globe to counter isolation caused by the Coronavirus with Quran & Muslim love. We will be starting this Tuesday at 10 pm inshallah (God willing).

Join us and others as we read a small portion of the Quran each night, share reflections and build meaningful ties that will strengthen us through this time

This event is totally free. You can register by clicking on the link in Imam Suhaib’s Instagram bio (@suhaib.webb) or registering at suhaibwebb.com

Here is a list of guest reciters and facilitators:
1. Sheikha Amina Darwish (@darwish_amina)
2. Dr. Muhammad Abu al-Futuh
3. Dr. Yousef Wahb
4. Imam Marc Manley (@sonofpierre)
5. Sheikh Hassan Faye (@iamhassanfaye)
6. Sister Yasmin (@yasguru)
7. Imam Fadel Soliman (@fadel_soliman)
8. Tonetrump (@tonetrump)
9. Jennifer Grout (@jennifer_grout_official)
10. Ust. Asad Dandia (@dandiaasad)
11. Sheikh Hasib Noor (@hasibmn)
12. Omayma Mansour (@mamyabamya)
13. Sheikh Ismael Essa (@ismaelessa)
14. Sister Lauren (@food4theory )
15. Asan Manan (@asaddalionn)
16. Sheikh Iran Jareeri @imranaljareeri
17. Ust. Tariq Toure @tariqtoure
18. Imam Zakir Ahmed @zakirahmed1
19. Heba Subeh-Hyder (@maymunahsmusings )
20. Sheikh Abu Najia (@abu_najia)
21. Sheikha Maryam Amir (@themaryamamir)
22. Imam Khalid Latif (@imamklatif)
23. Ust. Wisam Sharieff (@wisamsharieff)
24. Imam Tariq Ansaar Aquil (@tariqansaaraquil)
And more

Each facilitator will share and read with the group a portion of the Qur’an, followed by their reflection and a brief discussion with participants. It is important that we gather together during difficult times and foster an attachment to Allah’s book and each other.

About the author

Suhaib Webb

Suhaib Webb

Suhaib Webb is a contemporary American-Muslim educator, activist, and lecturer. His work bridges classical and contemporary Islamic thought, addressing issues of cultural, social and political relevance to Muslims in the West. After converting to Islam in 1992, Webb left his career in the music industry to pursue his passion in education. He earned a Bachelor’s in Education from the University of Central Oklahoma and received intensive private training in the Islamic Sciences under a renowned Muslim Scholar of Senegalese descent. Webb was hired as the Imam at the Islamic Society of Greater Oklahoma City, where he gave khutbas (sermons), taught religious classes, and provided counselling to families and young people; he also served as an Imam and resident scholar in communities across the U.S.

From 2004-2010, Suhaib Webb studied at the world’s preeminent Islamic institution of learning, Al-Azhar University, in the College of Shari`ah. During this time, after several years of studying the Arabic Language and the Islamic legal tradition, he also served as the head of the English Translation Department at Dar al-Ifta al-Misriyyah.

Outside of his studies at Al-Azhar, Suhaib Webb completed the memorization of the Quran in the city of Makkah, Saudi Arabia. He has been granted numerous traditional teaching licenses (ijazat), adhering to centuries-old Islamic scholarly practice of ensuring the highest standards of scholarship. Webb was named one of the 500 Most Influential Muslims in the World by the Royal Islamic Strategic Studies Center in 2010.

Leave a Comment